Reason No.3 – The Painting

Another arty reason now.   When I was at Art College I studied painting, with a bit of ceramics thrown in.  Like Ian, my interest in Japan started with pots and clay, coupled with a real fascination for old Japanese prints……Not so much interested in the printmaking process really, but the aesthetic appeal of the flattened perspective and compositional devices was really attractive to me.  And as I have a real interest in pattern on textiles, garments, rugs, ceramics and EVERYTHING,  traditional Japanese art is full of that simplicity and order, making it quite soothing ( to me at least)

Quite a strange thing happened – the more I studied  all things Japanese, the more I noticed the influence wherever I went, a bit like having a Japanese filter on my eyes, picking out images and designs I could use in my paintings.  And it IS amazing how much of this stuff is around, even here in Scotland!

I want to go to Japan because I could see first hand everything I have seen secondhand !  Fabrics, costumes, colours, designs, architecture, flowers, trees, and especially gardens and parks.  The contrast between the traditional and the super-modern would be utterly exciting to see.

Much of my painting is Japanese in flavour, much of it is red, black and gold – and much of it sells to people who also appreciate that sense of order and formality (I know this because they tell me ! )

Leave a comment